## **Minutes**

## Justice Committee of the Presbyterian Mission Agency Board Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) The Brown Hotel, Louisville, KY April 16, 2015

APRIL 16, 2015 CALL TO ORDER The meeting of the Justice Committee of the Presbyterian Mission Agency Board was called to order and opened in prayer by the Vice Chair, Susan Osoinach at 1:30PM on Thursday, April 16, 2015 at The Brown Hotel in Louisville, KY.

ELECTED MEMBERS PRESENT Those present for all or a portion of the meeting were:

James R. Ephraim, Jr.Kears PollockSusan OsoinachNoelle RoyerCecil CorbettKathy TerpstraMary JorgensonJames E. Fouther Jr.

Joseph Morrow

EXCUSED

ELECTED MEMBERS Lindsay Harren-Lewis

CORRESPONDING

**MEMBERS** 

Raafat Zaki, Ray Roberts, Kerri Allen

**OTHERS** 

Sara Lisherness – Mission Agency Staff, Compassion, Peace and Justice Ministry Hunter Farrell – Mission Agency Staff, Compassion, Peace and Justice Ministry Bill Somplatsky-Jarman – Mission Agency Staff, Compassion, Peace and Justice

Ministry

Barry Creech, Mission Agency Staff,

Cristina Pitts – Mission Agency Staff, World Mission Ministry

Champaka Srinivasan – Mission Agency Staff, World Mission Ministry Tonia Trice – Mission Agency Staff, Compassion, Peace and Justice Ministry

Shannon Beck, Mission Agency Staff, World Mission Ministry

Lonnie Oliver – Mission Agency Staff, Racial Ethnic and Women's Ministry Greg Allen-Pickett – Mission Agency Staff, World Mission Ministry Office

Pat Cole – Mission Agency Staff, Communications

Chris Iosso – Mission Agency Staff, Compassion, Peace and Justice Ministry Laurie Kraus – Mission Agency Staff, Compassion, Peace and Justice Ministry Cynthia White – Mission Agency Staff, Compassion, Peace, and Justice Ministry

Frank Dimmock - Mission Agency Staff, World Mission Ministry Office

Trina Zelle - Mission Agency Staff, PHEWA

Ruth Farrell – Mission Agency Staff, Compassion, Peace and Justice Ministry Jewel Jones – Mission Agency Staff, Racial Ethnic and Women's Ministry

WELCOME

Members, guests and staff were introduced.

COMMITTEE ACTIONS:

The Justice Committee **VOTED** to **RE-ELECT** James R. Ephraim, Jr. as Chair and Susan Osoinach as Vice Chair for the year 2015-2016

APPROVAL OF AGENDA ITEM B. 100 The Justice Committee **VOTED** to **ADOPT** the agenda with amendment.

MINUTES OF THE JUSTICE COMMITTEE ITEMS B. 101 The Justice Committee **VOTED** to **APPROVE** the Justice Committee Minutes of April 24, 2014.

CHANGES TO PDA MANUAL OF OPERATIONS ITEM B. 103 The Justice Committee **VOTED** to **APPROVE** the following recommendation:

That the Justice Committee recommend to the Presbyterian Mission Agency Board the following amendments to an action of the General Assembly Mission Council from May, 2012 and reflect such changes in the PDA Manual of Operations

- 1 The amount allocated by PDA to Mid Councils for Initial Response Grants for immediate needs in the community following a disaster will ordinarily be up to \$7,500.
- 2 The amount allocated by PDA to Mid Councils for Church Damage Assistance Grants following a disaster that puts the ministry of the particular church at risk will ordinarily be \$5,000 with no more than \$25,000 ordinarily being allocated to a Mid Council in a calendar year.
- 3 Exceptions to this policy will be made with the support of the PDA Advisory Committee, which shall generally be secured by conference call. Exceptions to these amounts will be reported to the Justice Committee and the Presbyterian Mission Agency Board at their next stated meeting.

**Discussion:** Laurie Kraus presented the recommendation to the Justice Committee. James Ephraim, Noelle Royer and James E. Fouther Jr. commended the Presbyterian Disaster Assistance ministry on the work done during the Boston snow storms and the Boston bombing.

MISSION RESPONSIBILITY THROUGH INVESTMENT PROXY VOTING ITEM B.102 The Justice Committee **VOTED** to **APPROVE** the following recommendation:

That the Presbyterians Mission Agency Board, in reference to Mission Responsibility Through Investment proxy voting recommendations.

1. Affirm the proxy voting recommendations of the Committee on Mission Responsibility Through Investment (MRTI) contained in the 2015 Shareholder Resolution Directory.

- 2. Request the Presbyterian Church (USA) Foundation/ New Covenant Trust Company and the Board of Pensions to vote proxies on the shareholder resolutions submitted to companies in which they own stock in accordance with the recommendations listed in the 2015 Shareholder Resolution Directory.
- 3. Urge the middle governing bodies, related institutions, congregations and individual members of the Presbyterian Church (USA) to give serious consideration to the proxy voting recommendations when they vote on shareholder resolutions

**Discussion:** Several members of the board asked Bill Somplatsky- Jarman questions on communication through the church and collaboration with other denominations. Bill also informed the committee that MRTI is in the process of interviewing a new staff person.

## INFORMATION ITEMS

- A. Jinishian Memorial Program United States Advisory Committee and Governance Commission Minutes, October 2014 (B. 200)
- B. Educate A Child, Transform the World Campaign Update. (B. 201)
- C. PHP Advisory Committee Minutes October 8-10, 2014 (B. 202)
- D. Mission Responsibility Through Investment (MRTI) Updates. (B.203)
- E. Mission Responsibility Through Investment (MRTI) Update Fossil Fuel Companies and Climate Change Referral 15-01. (B. 204)
- F. Ministry Highlights from Presbyterian Health, Education & Welfare Association (PHEWA) and the PC (USA) Disability Concerns Consultant Program. (B. 205) Trina Zelle spoke to the committee regarding the Presbyterian Criminal Justice Network (PCJN) Conference in Indianapolis, IN and travel to the Synod of Trinity.
- G. PDA Advisory Committee Minutes October 8-10, 2014. (B. 206)
- H. Black Lives Matter (B. 207) Lonnie Oliver presented a PowerPoint regarding Black Lives Matter.

## ADJOURNMENT

James Ephraim Closed the meeting in prayer at 5:10pm.

Respectfully submitted,
James R. Ephraim Jr., Chair
Shannon Beck, Resource Staff
Bill Somplatsky-Jarman, Resource Staff
Tonia Trice, Recorder