Skip to main content

“Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom.” — Luke 23:42

Your Presbyterian Theological Seminaries at a Glance

Photograph of two men, one in graduation robe and hat.

Everyday life has changed significantly since the first of your Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) theological seminaries were founded in 1794 and 1812. Over the years, additional theological institutions were established, carrying on the Presbyterian tradition of providing educated leadership for congregations from the Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific Rim.

Today, your 10 seminaries as well as two theological institutions related to the denomination by covenant agreement have been entrusted to provide the educational foundation pastors need to be able to preach, teach, pray and lead.

Together they:

  • Prepare men and women to be pastors, educators and musicians for congregations
  • Provide continuing education and advanced degree programs for ministers of the Word and Sacrament and for lay church leaders.
  • Serve as centers for theological discourse, reflection and research for the benefit of the wider church during changing times.

As we continue into the 21st century, each of your theological institutions will continue to provide a Presbyterian ethos for learning and spiritual formation — theological education in the Reformed tradition.

Find a Presbyterian Theological Seminary

While united in their commitment to Jesus Christ, educational excellence and the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.), your theological schools differ in significant ways. The links below provide profiles of the individual seminaries, summarizing what each school can offer persons seeking to enhance their preparation for ministry in the church of Jesus Christ.

For more information about a particular PC(USA) theological seminary, contact the Office of Theological Education or visit the school's Web site.

Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary
Austin, Texas

Columbia Theological Seminary
Decatur, Georgia

University of Dubuque Theological Seminary
Dubuque, Iowa

Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary
Louisville, Kentucky

McCormick Theological Seminary
Chicago, lllinois

Pittsburgh Theological Seminary
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Princeton Theological Seminary
Princeton, New Jersey

San Francisco Theological Seminary
San Anselmo and Pasadena, California

Johnson C. Smith Theological Seminary
Atlanta, Georgia

Union Presbyterian Seminary
Richmond, Virginia and Charlotte, North Carolina

Seminaries Related to the PC(USA) by Covenant Agreement

Auburn Theological Seminary
New York, New York

Evangelical Seminary of Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico

Virtual Tour of PCUSA Seminaries

Seminary tour