Skip to main content

“Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom.” — Luke 23:42

Subscribe by RSS

For more information

Susan Stack
(800) 728-7228, x5800
Send email

Or write to
100 Witherspoon Street
Louisville, KY 40202

PHEWA staff and board of directors


Trina ZelleTrina Zelle
PHEWA National Organizer/Executive Director
Kapolei, Hawaii
email Trina Zelle

Susan StackSusan Stack
Associate for PHEWA and Networking
Presbytery Mission Agency
(800) 728-7228 x5800
email Susan Stack

Board of Directors

The PHEWA Board of Directors provides oversight, coordination, and visioning. Members of the Board include a representative from each PHEWA network, at-large members bringing particular skill sets, four officers, and ex officio members: Director of the Presbyterian Mission Agency's (PMA) Compassion, Peace and Justice Ministry, PMA Coordinator for Social Witness Ministries, PHEWA Immediate Past President, and the PHEWA National Organizer/Executive Director.

PHEWA Officers

John R. ScotlandJohn R. Scotland
Brigantine, New Jersey




Sarah V. McKenney
Vice President
Bloomington, Indiana




Bob Schminkey
Chestertown, Maryland



Doug MitchellDoug Mitchell
Minneapolis, Minnesota



Bob BrashearBob Brashear
Liaison to Presbyterian Mission Agency Board/G.A. Coordinator
New York, New York



Members at Large

Belle Miller McMasterBelle Miller McMaster
Decatur, GA




steve werth

Steve Werth
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania


Network Board Members

Aaron SteeleAaron H. Steele
Presbyterian Association for Community Transformation (PACT)
New Orleans, Louisiana



Bonnie OrthBonnie M. Orth
Presbyterians Against Domestic Violence Network (PADVN)
Amsterdam, New York



Emily Rose ProctorEmily Rose Proctor
Presbyterian AIDS Network (PAN)
Jacksonville, Florida



Brian SymondsBrian S. Symonds
Presbyterians Affirming Reproductive Options (PARO)
Fullerton, California



Douglas RonsheimJohn T. VanderZee
Presbyterian Association of Specialized Pastoral Ministries (PASPM)
Bloomington, Indiana



Leah Hrachovec Vacant
Presbyterian Child Advocacy Network (PCAN)



Gail TyreeGail Foster Tyree
Presbyterian Criminal Justice Network (PCJN)
Southaven, Mississippi



Cindy MertenCindy Merten
Presbyterians for Disability Concerns (PDC)
Troy, Michigan



Pat WelshPat Welsh, R.N., MSN, FCN
Presbyterian Health Network (PHN)
Louisville, Kentucky




Leah Hrachovec Vacant
Presbyterian Serious Mental Illness Network (PSMIN)



Ex Officio Members

Bebb Wheeler StoneBebb Wheeler Stone
Immediate Past President
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania




Melissa Lynn DeRosiaMelissa Lynn DeRosia
Presbyterian Mission Agency Board liaison 
Rochester, New York



Sara LishernessSara Lisherness
Director, Compassion, Peace & Justice ministry area
Presbytery Mission Agency



Bill Somplatsky-JarmanBill Somplatsky-Jarman
Coordinator, Social Witness Ministries
Presbytery Mission Agency