Skip to main content

“Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom.” — Luke 23:42

Subscribe by RSS

For more information

Susan Stack
(800) 728-7228, x5800
Send email

Or write to
100 Witherspoon Street
Louisville, KY 40202

Awards and models of ministry

Community Transformation Award

The Community Transformation Award is given to congregations or worshiping communities that, either through ecumenical or interfaith community ministry, or through a special project of the congregation/worshiping community, have been faithful and creative in ministry to and with the community. The award is presented by PHEWA's Presbyterian Association for Community Transformation (PACT).

Breaking the Silence Award

PHEWA’s Presbyterians Against Domestic Violence Network (PADVN) presented their first biennial Faith in Action Award at the 2010 General Assembly.  This Award honors a PC(USA) congregation or individual from that congregation that has demonstrated and continues to demonstrate a commitment to eliminating domestic violence, through educational, advocacy and other intervention efforts.

Read more about criteria for PADVN’s Breaking the Silence Award and nominate a congregation.

Faith In Action Award

The Presbyterian AIDS Network (PAN) presented our first biennial Faith in Action Award at the 219th General Assembly (2010). PAN’s Faith in Action Award honors a PC(USA) congregation that has responded to the HIV/AIDS pandemic by initiating or supporting activities within the United States in meaningful and lasting ways.

Read more about criteria for the Faith in Action Award and nominate a congregation.

Nancy Jennings Award

The Nancy Jennings Award, presented by Presbyterians for Disability Concerns (PDC), goes to a person, congregation or other PC(USA) entity that affirms, supports and advocates for the gifts, rights and responsibilities of people with disabilities in the life of the church. Recipients of this awards include:

Florence Iversen Kraft Award

The Florence Iversen Kraft Award goes to a congregation that has demonstrated outstanding leadership in ministry with those who suffer from serious mental illness and their families; it is presented by the Presbyterian Serious Mental Illness Network (PSMIN).

Nomination criteria form

Download from resource archives

John Rea Thomas Award

The John Rea Thomas Award, presented by the Presbyterian Association of Specialized Pastoral Ministries (PASPM), is given to persons, organizations, institutions or congregations that have demonstrated excellence in the fields of pastoral care and counseling.

David Hancock Award

The David Hancock Award was formerly presented by Presbyterians for Addiction Action (PAA) to a church or church professional for a significant contribution in the area of addiction prevention, intervention or recovery. Budget, staffing, and volunteer constraints have necessitated putting the PAA network on hiatus at this time. We offer these models of ministry in hopes that they may offer ideas for your own engagement.

Margaret A. Fuad Award

The Margaret A. Fuad Award, formerly presented by PAA, honored a lay person who, as a volunteer or activist, has been instrumental in getting his or her church and community involved in issues related to drug and alcohol abuse through education, awareness or treatment.

PHEWA awards to be presented in 2015

John Park Lee Award

The John Park Lee Award has been presented at each PHEWA Biennial Social Justice Conference since 1969. The award recognizes and honors a Presbyterian who has done faithful and exemplary work in social welfare and justice ministries and exemplifies the qualities of concern, sensitivity and involvement for which Lee was known.

Download nomination form

Rodney T. Martin Award

The Rodney T. Martin Award recognizes a significant long-term contribution made by the recipient to the ministry of PHEWA. This award honors the legacy of Rod Martin, who faithfully served as PHEWA Executive Director and PC(USA) Associate for Social Welfare, Organizational Relations from 1972 through 1990.